Eu Lisbon Agreement

Before the opening of the IGC, the Polish government expressed a desire to renegotiate the June agreement, particularly on the voting system, but gave in under political pressure from most other Member States because it did not want to be seen as the only troublemaker in the negotiations. [21] The Lisbon Treaty (originally known as the Reform Treaty) is an international agreement that amends the two treaties that form the constitutional basis of the European Union (EU). The Lisbon Treaty was signed by member states on 13 December 2007 and came into force on 1 December 2009. [2] It amends the Maastricht Treaty (1992), called the Treaty on the European Union (2007) or kills it in an updated form, and the Treaty of Rome (1957), which is called, in an updated form, the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (2007) or the Treaty on the TFUE. [3] In addition, the protocols attached to the treaty and the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) are being amended. A treaty is a binding agreement between EU member states. It sets out the EU`s objectives, the rules for EU institutions, how decisions are taken and the relationship between the EU and its member states. The need to review the EU`s constitutional framework, particularly in view of the accession of ten new Member States in 2004, was underlined in a declaration annexed to the Treaty of Nice in 2001. The Nice agreements had paved the way for a further enlargement of the Union through a reform of voting procedures.

In the December 2001 Laeken Declaration, the EU pledged to improve democracy, transparency and efficiency and defined the process that could constitute a constitution to achieve these goals. Created under the presidency of former French President Valéry Giscard d`Estaing, the European Convention was tasked with providing as comprehensive advice as possible throughout Europe in order to draft a first draft constitution. The final text of the constitutional proposal was adopted at the summit on 18-19 June 2004, under the Irish Presidency. The President of the European Council is appointed by qualified majority of the European Council for a two-and-a-half-year term. A president may be re-elected once again and removed under the same voting procedure.